Skip to content
Comparisons

Front-Load vs Top-Load Washer Dimensions

Last reviewed: 2 min read
Short version

Compare front-load and top-load washer footprints, stackability, door-swing depth, and capacity using verified specs.

Front-load and top-load washers may share the same 27-inch width class, but their footprints are not identical. The differences affect whether a pair can be stacked, whether the door can open fully in a closet, and how much laundry capacity fits in the cabinet.

The two front-load models in this comparison, the LG WM3400CW and Samsung WF45B6300AW, are 27 inches wide and 38.75 to 39 inches tall. Their cabinet depths are 30.25 and 31.375 inches. With the doors open, those depths become 55 inches and 52.8125 inches.

The two top-load models, the Whirlpool WTW5057LW and Maytag MVW6200KW, are taller. The Whirlpool is 41.5 inches high and 27.75 inches wide; the Maytag is 42 inches high and 27.5 inches wide. Neither manufacturer lists a depth-with-door-open value in the dataset, because the lid opens upward rather than outward.

Capacity is close. The top-load washers are 4.8 cu. ft.; the front-load washers are 4.5 cu. ft. Stackability is a front-load advantage in small spaces: the matching dryers can be stacked above the washer with a manufacturer kit. Top-load washers cannot be stacked because the lid must lift. Electrical demand is similar: all four models use 120V, with amperage ranging from 10A on the LG to 15A on the Whirlpool, Maytag, and Samsung.

Brand Model Type Width (in) Height (in) Depth (in) Depth door open (in) Capacity Amperage
LG WM3400CW front-load 27.0 39.0 30.25 55.0 4.5 cu ft 10A
Samsung WF45B6300AW front-load 27.0 38.75 31.375 52.8125 4.5 cu ft 15A
Whirlpool WTW5057LW top-load 27.75 41.5 27.0 not stated 4.8 cu ft 15A
Maytag MVW6200KW top-load 27.5 42.0 27.5 not stated 4.8 cu ft 15A

For the broader washer size picture, see the standard washer sizes guide or the washer category page.

Bottom line

Compare front-load and top-load washer footprints, stackability, door-swing depth, and capacity using verified specs.

Sources & Verification

  1. lg.com — manufacturer document

    Primary source cited for the specifications in this article.

    ✓ Verified
  2. image-us.samsung.com — manufacturer document

    Primary source cited for the specifications in this article.

    ✓ Verified
  3. whirlpool.com — manufacturer document

    Primary source cited for the specifications in this article.

    ✓ Verified
  4. maytag.com — manufacturer document

    Primary source cited for the specifications in this article.

    ✓ Verified